The LPGA has elected Stephen C. Mills to LPGA Board of Directors for 2023, whilst John Veihmeyer succeeds Diane Gulyas as Board Chair and Gemma Dryburgh, Mel Reid, Elizabeth Szokol, Kelly Tan are elected as Player Directors

The LPGA has announced that Stephen C. Mills, former president and general manager of the New York Knicks, has been elected to the LPGA Board of Directors as an Independent Director for 2023.

Retiring from the LPGA Board of Directors is Diane Gulyas, Chair and former senior executive for DuPont, LLC. John Veihmeyer, retired Chairman of KPMG International, replaces Gulyas as the new Board Chair.

In addition, Gemma Dryburgh, Mel Reid, Elizabeth Szokol and Kelly Tan have been elected to the LPGA Board as Player Directors, succeeding Lydia Ko, Amy Olson, Alena Sharp and Michelle Wie West, whose terms expired.

“I am excited about the opportunity to join the Board. I’ve been a big fan of the LPGA for years and I am looking forward to becoming a part of the organization in this capacity,” said Mills.

“During my National Basketball Association tenure, I spent many years focused on international events as a marketing vehicle to support and grow our global business and the individual brands of our players. I look forward to leveraging that experience to assist in the growth of the LPGA, with an exciting 2023 season on the horizon."

“I am thrilled that Steve has agreed to join the LPGA Board of Directors,” said LPGA Commissioner Mollie Marcoux Samaan. “We will lean heavily on his experience at the highest level of professional sports as well as his experience, expertise and passion in helping drive equity through sports. I’m confident his impact will be immediate.”

“I believe the LPGA has an incredible opportunity to use its platform to empower and advance women and girls in so many ways, so I’m excited and honored to be asked to chair this talented board,” said Veihmeyer. “I also want to thank Diane Gulyas for her leadership of the board, as well as the outgoing Player Directors – Lydia Ko, Amy Olson, Alena Sharp, Michelle Wie West – for all their contributions over the past several years!”

Gemma Dryburgh becomes a Player Director

Joining the LPGA Board as one of four new Player Directors, Dryburgh recently became the fourth Scottish player to win on the LPGA Tour with her victory at the 2022 TOTO Japan Classic in November. She has finished in the top 10 four additional times throughout her Tour tenure and is a three-time Rose Ladies Series champion.

Six-time Ladies European Tour winner Reid became an LPGA Tour Member in 2017 and has one win, the 2020 ShopRite LPGA Classic presented by Acer, and six additional top-10 finishes to her credit. She’s a four-time member of the European Solheim Cup team and represented her native England at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

Szokol first became an LPGA Tour Member in 2019 and has recorded five top-10 results in her four-year career, including a tie for second at the 2021 Dana Open presented by Marathon. She has won once as a professional, the 2018 IOA Invitational on the Epson Tour.

Tan hails from Malaysia and finished in a tie for 13th at 2013 LPGA Q-Series to first earn LPGA Tour Membership for the 2014 season. She has three career top-10 finishes on her resume and has one professional victory that came at the Florida's Natural Charity Classic on the Epson Tour in 2019. Tan represented Malaysia at the 2016 Rio Olympics and 2020 Tokyo Olympics, finishing 51st and T34 respectively.

“The LPGA Board of Directors is crucial to the success of our organization, helping to set the vision and strategy to achieve maximum growth and impact,” said Marcoux Samaan.

“The unique talent and business experience that each of our Independent Board Members brings to the table is invaluable, and the perspective our Player Directors provide ensures that we are supporting our athletes as they strive to reach peak performance and achieve their dreams.”