Can you putt on the green whilst holding your umbrella? Women & Golf’s rules expert Sheila Waltham explains all.
I recently played in a match when the heavens opened. My opponent had been using an umbrella and, having hit her ball very close to the hole, walked onto the green holding the umbrella and her putter, removed the flagstick and laid it down. She then proceeded to putt the ball into the hole while still holding her umbrella over her. Is she allowed to do this?
Yes, a player may hold an umbrella over herself when playing a stroke.
The Rules prohibit the caddie (or anyone else) from providing protection to the player from the elements whilst she plays her stroke. But she may protect herself from the elements whilst making a stroke eg by wearing protective clothing or holding an umbrella over her head (Rule 10.2b(5)).