To celebrate a triumphant year for women in sport, BT Sport have announced a shortlist of ten nominees for the BT Action Woman Awards. Vote for Charley Hull today - we think she deserves it!

The Awards invite members of the public to vote for the women whose dynamic sporting performances have made the most impact this year.

To launch the Awards a shortlist of ten nominees has been created with each receiving support from a high-profile super-fan from the world of sport. The shortlist and advocates are:

  • Christine Ohuruogu supported by Boris Johnson
  • Rachel Atherton supported by Victoria Pendleton
  • Laura Robson supported by Judy Murray
  • Katie Summerhayes supported by Lawrence Dallaglio
  • Heather Knight supported by Mike Gatting
  • Sophie Christiansen supported by Sebastian Coe KBE
  • Non Stanford supported by the Brownlee brothers
  • Charley Hull supported by Sir Steve Redgrave
  • Natasha Dowie supported by Michael Owen
  • Ellie Simmonds supported by Sir Ben Ainslie

Members of the public will get to decide who they feel is the most deserving winner via, voting will close on the 19th January 2014. The results of the BT Action Woman Awards will be announced on BT Sport’s The Clare Balding Show on the 25th January 2014.

Simon Green, head of BT Sport said “After an outstanding year in women’s sport we are proud to launch the first ever BT Action Woman Awards. The Awards are great way to recognise and celebrate achievements and contributions women have made to sport throughout the past year.”

Clare Balding said “Promoting women’s achievements in the sporting world is something which is extremely important to me and so I’m delighted to be able to do this and showcase the very best sporting achievements made by women on The Clare Balding Show.”

To register your vote please visit
Voting will close on the 19th January 2014