International Golf Federation announces fields for the men’s and women’s Olympic golf competitions at Paris 2024

The International Golf Federation (IGF) has announced the fields for the men’s and women’s Olympic golf competitions at Paris 2024. The men’s Olympic golf competition will take place from 1-4 August, while the women will compete from 7-10 August.

The Olympic golf competitions will be contested at Le Golf National, which annually hosts the FedEx Open de France on the DP World Tour and was the site of the 2018 Ryder Cup.

Once the Olympic Golf Rankings were finalised on 18 June and 25 June for the men’s and women’s Olympic golf competitions, respectively, each National Olympic Committee (NOC) then began the process of confirming their qualifiers for the competitions by 27 June (5 p.m. US Eastern Time). Past this deadline, all unused quota places were then reallocated as per the Qualification System for golf.

With 32 countries represented in the men’s Olympic golf competition and 33 in the women’s field, the composition of the Olympic fields highlights the broad global interest in golf and the opportunity to reach new audiences across all six different continents.

Golf is looking to continue building upon the success of the previous two Olympic golf competitions at Rio 2016 and Tokyo 2020. Paris 2024 will mark the fifth occasion in which golf has been featured as an Olympic sport, and just the third time since 1904.

In total, 38 different NOCs will be represented across both the men’s and women’s Olympic golf competitions, with the United States of America sending the most athletes: seven (four men, three women). The following is the full list of NOCs represented in the fields for the men’s and women’s Olympic golf competitions: Australia, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, China, Chinese Taipei, Colombia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Paraguay, Philippines, Poland, Puerto Rico, Republic of Korea, Singapore, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United States of America.

In the men’s field, 10 of the top 15 players in the Official World Golf Ranking, as of this week, are competing in the Olympic golf competition, including all of the top-5 ranked players. In the women’s field, all 15 of the top-15 ranked women in the Rolex Rankings, as of this week, are competing in the Olympic golf competition.

Field for the men's Olympic golf competition

Listed in alphabetical order of the NOCs

NameNational Olympic Committee
Emiliano GrilloArgentina
Alejandro TostiArgentina
Jason DayAustralia
Min Woo LeeAustralia
Sepp StrakaAustria
Thomas DetryBelgium
Adrien Dumont de ChassartBelgium
Nick TaylorCanada
Corey ConnersCanada
Joaquin NiemannChile
Mito PereiraChile
Zecheng DouChina
Carl YuanChina
Kevin YuChinese Taipei
C.T. PanChinese Taipei
Camilo VillegasColombia
Nico EchavarriaColombia
Nicolai HøjgaardDenmark
Thorbjørn OlesenDenmark
Sami ValimakiFinland
Tapio PulkkanenFinland
Matthieu PavonFrance
Victor PerezFrance
Stephan JaegerGermany
Matti SchmidGermany
Tommy FleetwoodGreat Britain
Matthew FitzpatrickGreat Britain
Shubhankar SharmaIndia
Gaganjeet BhullarIndia
Rory McIlroyIreland
Shane LowryIreland
Matteo ManasseroItaly
Guido MigliozziItaly
Hideki MatsuyamaJapan
Keita NakajimaJapan
Gavin GreenMalaysia
Abraham AncerMexico
Carlos OrtizMexico
Ryan FoxNew Zealand
Daniel HillierNew Zealand
Viktor HovlandNorway
Kris VenturaNorway
Fabrizio ZanottiParaguay
Adrian MeronkPoland
Rafael CamposPuerto Rico
Tom KimRepublic of Korea
Byeong Hun AnRepublic of Korea
Christiaan BezuidenhoutSouth Africa
Erik van RooyenSouth Africa
Jon RahmSpain
David PuigSpain
Ludvig ÅbergSweden
Alex NorenSweden
Joel GirrbachSwitzerland
Kiradech AphibarnratThailand
Phachara KhongwatmaiThailand
Scottie SchefflerUnited States of America
Xander SchauffeleUnited States of America
Wyndham ClarkUnited States of America
Collin MorikawaUnited States of America

Field for the women's Olympic golf competition

Listed in alphabetical order of the NOCs

NameNational Olympic Committee
Hannah GreenAustralia
Minjee LeeAustralia
Emma SpitzAustria
Sarah SchoberAustria
Manon De RoeyBelgium
Brooke M. HendersonCanada
Alena SharpCanada
Ruoning YinChina
Xiyu LinChina
Peiyun ChienChinese Taipei
Wei-Ling HsuChinese Taipei
Mariajo UribeColombia
Klara Davidson SpilkovaCzech Republic
Sara KouskovaCzech Republic
Emily Kristine PedersenDenmark
Nanna Koerstz MadsenDenmark
Ursula WikstromFinland
Noora KomulainenFinland
Celine BoutierFrance
Perrine DelacourFrance
Esther HenseleitGermany
Alexandra ForsterlingGermany
Charley HullGreat Britain
Georgia HallGreat Britain
Aditi AshokIndia
Diksha DagarIndia
Leona MaguireIreland
Stephanie MeadowIreland
Alessandra FanaliItaly
Yuka SasoJapan
Miyu YamashitaJapan
Ashley LauMalaysia
Gaby LopezMexico
Maria FassiMexico
Ines LaklalechMorocco
Anne Van DamNetherlands
Lydia KoNew Zealand
Celine BorgeNorway
Madelene StavnarNorway
Bianca PagdangananPhilippines
Dottie ArdinaPhilippines
Jin Young KoRepublic of Korea
Amy YangRepublic of Korea
Hyo-Joo KimRepublic of Korea
Shannon TanSingapore
Pia BabnikSlovenia
Ana BelacSlovenia
Ashleigh BuhaiSouth Africa
Paula RetoSouth Africa
Carlota CigandaSpain
Azahara MunozSpain
Maja StarkSweden
Linn GrantSweden
Albane ValenzuelaSwitzerland
Morgane MetrauxSwitzerland
Atthaya ThitikulThailand
Patty TavatanakitThailand
Nelly KordaUnited States of America
Lilia VuUnited States of America
Rose ZhangUnited States of America

Update on Joost Luiten- statement from the IGF

When the IGF received notification of Joost Luiten's court ruling in the Netherlands and his entry from the Netherlands’ National Olympic Committee (NOC*NSF), his unused quota spot had already been reallocated pursuant to the IGF’s published qualification procedures.

The IGF was not a party to the legal action brought forth by Luiten in the Netherlands. Nevertheless, in an effort to support Luiten, the IGF sought an exception from the IOC to increase the field size of the men's Olympic golf competition from 60 to 61 competitors to include Luiten, however the request was denied by the IOC today.

The IGF has advised Luiten of the IOC's decision, and he has not informed the IGF whether he intends to pursue this matter further.

As well as the other Dutch players who has missed out on their opportunities to compete. Momoka Kobori will not be representing New Zealand. The LET player released a statement via her Instagram page that said:

"Although I met the qualification standards set by the IGF, I did not meet the additional selection criteria that the New Zealand Olympic Committee had in place, and therefore will not be competing at the 2024 Paris Olympics.

"I'm certainly disappointed that I have missed the opportunity to represent my country at the Olympics. But I'm grateful to the NZOC for giving me the opportunity to put my case forward. Although the outcome was not what I had hoped for, I have no regrets and look forward to the next opportunity in front of me."

We'll be sharing daily round ups from Paris 2024, so keep an eye on out on Women & Golf social media and bi-weekly newsletters this August.