La Quinta Golf & Country Club


The Ladies European Tour have announced that the Andalucía Costa del Sol Open de España will be the climax of the 2018 season on November 22-25. 

The tournament will be contested at La Quinta Golf & Country Club in Benahavís, in the province of Málaga.

Promoted by the Royal Spanish Golf Federation and organised by Deporte and Business, the title sponsors are Tourism Andalucía, Costa del Sol and the municipalities of the Costa del Sol Occidental.

The choice of venue, which will host the championship for the second time, underlines the Costa del Sol’s objective to open up the region to families.

Tucked in the heart of Marbella’s golf valley, The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa is surrounded by stunning panoramic views of the hills of the Sierra Blanca and the Mediterranean sea. There are three 9-hole golf courses which can be enjoyed by all standards of golfer, and the resort is located within easy reach of the vibrant Puerto Banús Marina Harbour and the picturesque old town of Marbella- all just 45 minutes away from Malaga International Airport (AGP).


The Costa del Sol is hosting the Spanish Ladies Open for the fifth time and women have played a leading role in the sport’s development in the region. Local player Azahara Muñoz became the first Spanish player to win the national title at Aloha Golf Club in 2016 and then successfully defended in 2017, at her home club, Real Club de Golf Guadalmina. Dame Laura Davies won at Flamingos Golf Club in 2010 and fellow Englishwoman Mel Reid triumphed at La Quinta Golf & Country Club in 2011.

LET chairman Mark Lichtenhein said: “As one of our most important tournaments and a key golf tourism destination, the Andalucía Costa del Sol Open de España has an important role to play in golf’s development in Europe, particularly in our goal of bringing more women and families into the sport.”

The Andalucía Costa del Sol Open de España will be the final tournament of 2018, where the winners of the Order of Merit, Players’ Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year Awards will also be crowned. The Fatima Bint Mubarak Ladies Open in Abu Dhabi and the previous season-ending tournament, the Dubai Ladies Classic, will be played in early 2019 with further details to be announced soon.

The recent Ricoh Women’s British Open champion and world number 10, Georgia Hall from England, who claimed both the LET Order of Merit and Players’ Player of the Year titles in 2017, leads the 2018 LET Order of Merit and first-year professional Julia Engström from Sweden tops the Rookie of the Year Rankings heading into this week’s Lacoste Ladies Open de France.







Celebrate the Ryder Cup in the French Riviera READ MORE

Terre Blanche Resort



Subscribe to Women & Golf Magazine

newsletter icon

Sign-up to receive our
Women & Golf newsletter!


s lite shoes comp1

We are using cookies to give you the best experience on our site. Cookies are files stored in your browser and are used by most websites to help personalise your web experience.
By continuing to use our website without changing the settings, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.