The nominees have been announced for the England Golf Awards 2023 sponsored by FootJoy

This year’s England Golf Awards ceremony – back as an in-person event for the first time since 2019 – will take place at the Hilton Manchester Deansgate on Thursday, March 2 and will be hosted by broadcaster, journalist, and passionate golfer Clare Balding.

England Golf CEO Jeremy Tomlinson said noted: “We’re absolutely delighted to be holding the England Golf Awards in person once again and thrilled that Clare will be hosting what I’m sure will be a truly memorable night.

“We cannot wait to get together with the finalists, our clubs, counties, members and stakeholders to celebrate the significant and exceptional contributions and accomplishments of the amateur game, as well as the exciting developments at grassroots level.”

Nominations were invited from the public for 9 of the 11 categories. Performance of the Year and Tournament Venue of the Year candidates were nominated by England Golf staff.

In keeping with tradition, there is no shortlist for the Lifetime Service Award which will be presented to one worthy recipient on the night.

An expert panel of 39 judges, made up of England Golf staff as well as industry and media colleagues and England Golf’s ambassadors Tommy Fleetwood and Bronte Law who faced the unenviable task of narrowing down the potential winners from an outstanding longlist of nominations.

Biographical details on each of the nominees can be found by visiting the England Golf Awards 2023 website here.

England Golf Award shortlist of nominees:

Club of the Year - sponsored by Citation

  • Brailsford Golf Course (Derbyshire)
  • Letchworth Golf Club (Hertfordshire)
  • Lancaster Golf Club (Lancashire)
  • Seckford Golf Club (Suffolk)

County of the Year

  • Bedfordshire
  • Hampshire Ladies Golf
  • Yorkshire Ladies Association

Diversity and Inclusion Champion

  • Bring It On Brum! Holiday, Activity and Food Programme
  • Get Glowing Golf
  • Brent Valley Golf Academy
  • Muslim Golf Association

Participation and Development Coach of the Year

  • Aaron Lansberry (Stonebridge GC, Warwickshire)
  • Amy Taylor (Hinckley GC, Leicestershire)
  • Kevin Flynn (Tournerbury GC, Hampshire)
  • Mike Dodd (Sturminster Marshall GC, Dorset)

Performance of the Year - sponsored by Performance54

  • Dylan Shaw-Radford
  • England Women's Team
  • Lottie Woad
  • John Gough

Sustainability Project of the Year - sponsored by OceanTee

  • Bigbury Golf Club (Devon)
  • Mendip Golf Club (Somerset)
  • The Drift Golf Club (Surrey)
  • Woburn Golf Club (BB&O)

Tournament Venue of the Year

  • Saunton Golf Club (Devon)
  • Silloth on Solway Golf Club (Cumbria)
  • Lincoln Golf Club (Lincolnshire)
  • Sherwood Forest Golf Club (Nottinghamshire)

Volunteer of the Year

  • Carole Todd (Ashton and Lea GC, Lancashire)
  • Roger Stamp (Longridge GC, Lancashire)
  • Ruth Goodwin (Yorkshire LCGA)
  • Sonia McCarthy & Kirsty Joly (Sandown Park Golf Centre, Surrey)

Women and Girls’ Trailblazer - sponsored by Your Golf Travel

  • Anita Higginson (Leicestershire)
  • Nicky Lawrenson (Wiltshire)
  • Kelly Bridges (Dorset)
  • Girl Guiding Project (Hertfordshire)

Young Volunteer of the Year – supported by the Golf Foundation

  • Abi Frodsham (Wallasey GC, Cheshire)
  • Abigail Scott (Kenwick Park GC, Lincolnshire)
  • Alexandra Bonfield (Fulford GC, Yorkshire)
  • Emily Horsted (Woodhall Spa GC, Lincolnshire)

Congratulations to all the nominees! Women & Golf Editor Emma Ballard is looking forward to attending on the night.

For more details on the England Golf Awards 2023 finalists and to purchase tickets for the event, please visit the awards website.