Aline Krauter honoured for golf excellence, leadership skills and community service

Stanford University senior Aline Krauter has been named the 2022 Dinah Shore Trophy award winner, bolstering her status as one of the top collegiate female players who has made an impact on the golf course with her leadership and in the community through charitable endeavours. After winning her match and helping her team win the NCAA DI Women’s Golf Championship on May 25, 2022, Krauter was awarded an exemption to play in the Dana Open presented by Marathon in early September.

(Kruter pictured above after winning the R&A Women's Amateur Championship in 2020.)

Administered by the LPGA Foundation, the Dinah Shore Trophy recognises women’s golf student-athletes who excel in academics (3.2 on a 4.0 scale) and athletics—playing at least 50% of the team’s scheduled events, while maintaining a scoring average of 78 or less. Nominees must also demonstrate outstanding leadership skills and community service.

“I’m honoured to be selected as the winner of the 2022 Dinah Shore Trophy Award. With the award being from the WGCA and LPGA, that means a lot because that’s where I hope to be headed. Sharing this award with all the greats who have won it previously, including Stanford alum Casey Danielson, is super special. It’s an honour just being considered and a huge honour to win. I’m super proud to be considered a leader of this team because it’s full of great golfers and great people. Having that role on the team is super special to me.”

Graduating with a degree in International Business

A native of Stuttgart, Germany, Krauter is a leader in the classroom and on the golf course. She was the Stanford women’s golf team MVP in 2020 and a Pac-12 Honor Roll honoree in 2020 and 2021. Krauter has maintained a cumulative GPA of 3.62 while challenging herself with a heavy Stanford course load and is on track to graduate with a degree in International Business this June.

Inside the ropes, Krauter has competed in 94 percent of Cardinal team events. Her career scoring average is 72.97, highlighted by a 71.86 scoring average through March of this season, which is on track to be one of the best in Stanford women’s golf history. She has thirteen top-10 finishes, including five this year. She became the first Stanford Cardinal to win the 2020 R&A Women’s Amateur Championship and has also competed in four LPGA major championships, two U.S. Women’s Amateurs and the Augusta National Women’s Amateur.

Krauter giving back off the course too

Away from the course and classroom, Krauter is a service-minded individual with a special talent for connecting with children. She has shared her love of the game with young players in her home country of Germany by directing the children’s summer golf camp at her local club, taking on significant responsibility as both golf coach and organisational leader. Krauter has also contributed to the Stanford ABC Literacy Day, where she worked hands-on with local low-income students to promote childhood literacy.

The Dinah Shore Trophy Award is a joint effort between the LPGA Foundation, Friends of Golf (FOG) organization and the Chevron Championship, one of five major championships on the LPGA Tour schedule and the largest contributor to the Dinah Shore Scholarship Fund. As part of the Dinah Shore Trophy Award, a $10,000 grant will be awarded to the women’s golf program at Stanford University.

Past winners of this prestigious award include current LPGA Tour players Stacy Lewis (University of Arkansas, 2007), Amy Olson (North Dakota State University, 2012) and Casey Danielson (Stanford University, 2017), as well as Golf Channel personality and former LPGA Tour player Amanda Blumenherst (Duke University, 2008/2009).

The LPGA Foundation announced the Dinah Shore Scholarship Fund in March 1994 in honour of the late Dinah Shore, a Vanderbilt University graduate and an honorary member of the LPGA and World Golf Halls of Fame. The Dinah Shore Trophy Award has contributed more than $200,000 to women's collegiate golf programs since its inception.