With many of the county championships in Scotland being held over the last two weekends, we round up the the results from the events across the country.


With many of the county championships in Scotland being held over the last two weekends, we round up the the results from the events across the country.


Winner: Susan Wood (pictured above)

Susan Wood beat Alyson Hendry 4 & 3  to win Championship for the second time. 


Susan Wood bt Lesley Lloyd 2&1
Alyson Hendry bt Kirstin Brown 3&2


Susan Wood bt Alyson Hnedry 4 & 3



Winner: Kate McIntosh

Kate McIntosh (Broomieknowe) won the Midlothian women's county championship for the second year in a row. In a repeat of last year's final, this time at Murrayfield Golf Club, Kate gave a classy display to beat Louise Fraser (Kingsknowe) by 3 and 2.

K McIntosh (Broomieknowe) bt C Steedman (Murrayfield) 2 holes; L Fraser (Kingsknowe) bt W Nicholson (Baberton) 3 and 2.


McIntosh bt Fraser 3 and 2.


Dunbartonshire and Argyll

Winner: Lorna McClymont

Lorna McClymont, the No 7 qualifier, won the Dunbartonshire and Argyll women's county champion for the first time at her home club, Milngavie Golf Club.
Fifteen-year-old Lorna won by 5 and 4 against former Scotland international Claire Hargan (Regulus), who was six times champion of Midlothian between 2003 and 2009

Claire Hargan (St Regulus) bt Jillian Farrell (Cardross) 4 and 3.
Lorna McClymont (Milngavie) bt Lorraine Campbell (Cardross) 19th
McClymont bt Hargan 5 and 4


Perth and Kinross 


Winner: Jen Saxton

Jen Saxton retained the Perth and Kinross women's county championship at Alyth Golf Club after beating the 2011 title-winner, Nicola Robertson (Stirling), a US college student, by 4 and 3 in the final.

Jen Saxton (Muckhart) bt Shonagh Raitt (Crieff) 4 and 2
Nicola Robertson (Stirling) bt Laura Campbell (Pitlochry) 2 and 1

Saxton bt Robertson 4 and 3


East Lothian


Winner: Jane Herd

Jane Herd (Gullane Ladies) is the new East Lothian ladies champion after beating Keren Ward (North Berwick) at Musselburgh Golf Club.

One down after 10 holes, Herd surged into a three-hole lead by squaring the match and then winning the 13th, the 14th with a birdie and the 15th. A half at the next was good enough to earn Herd the title for the first time.

Keren Ward (North Berwick) bt Susan Penman (Gullane Ladies) 1 hole.
Jane Herd (Gullane Ladies) bt Kay Lannin (Craigielaw) 1 hole.
Herd bt Ward 3 and 2.




Winner: Elaine Moffat

Former Scottish women's amateur champion Elaine Moffat (St Regulus) won the Fife women's county championship at Ladybank Golf Club for a third time, after beating Lynn Newton (Dunnikier Park) by 3 and 2 in the final.

She beat the 2012 and 2013 champion Susan Jackson (Ladybank) by two holes in the morning semi-final whilst Newton had toppled the title-holder, Dianne Watson, by 3 and 2 in the other semi-final.


Elaine Moffat (St Regulus) bt Susan Jackson (Ladybank) 2 holes. Lynn Newton (Dunnikier) bt Dianne Watson (Leven GS) 3 and 2


Moffat bt Newton 3 and 2


Northern Counties 

Winner: Hannah McCook

Top seed Hannah McCook (Grantown on Spey) regained the Northern Counties LGA championship at Brora with a one-hole win over defending champion Cara Thompson (Royal Dornoch). McCook, who last won the title in 2012, played a poor shot to the green at the 16th to go one down but raised her game when she needed it most, winning the 17th to square the final and then the 18th to be county champion again.

McCook bt Harper 5 and 4
Thompson bt MacAngus 4 and 3
McCook bt Thompson 1 hole.




Winner: Jacqueline Cameron

Jacqueline Cameron (Blairgowrie), who as Jacqueline Sneddon was beaten finalist in 2013 and 2015, has won the Angus women's county championship for the first time. Married in March, Jacqueline (pictured with the larger championship trophy, alongside Gillian) beat defending champion and leading qualifier, Gillian Paton (Royal Montrose), by 3 and 2 in the final at Brechin Golf Club.


Gillian Paton (Royal Montrose) bt Louise Graham (Carnoustie Ladies) 5 and 3

Jacqueline Cameron (Blairgowrie) bt Jackie Brown (Monifieth) 4 and 3.

Cameron bt Paton 3 and 2


Winner: Tara Mactaggart

Tara Mactaggart (Minto) retained the Border women's county championship at the Roxburghe golf course, Kelso after beating home player Julie Birdsall by 2 and 1. Tara was four up after 11. Julie fought back, managing to bring it back to two down by winning both the 13th and 14th. Halves at 15,16 and 17 saw Mactaggart clinch victory on the penultimate green.

Julie Birdsall (The Roxburghe) bt Judith Anderson (Hawick) 3 and 2
Tara Mactaggart (Minto) bt Sharon Paterson (Kelso) 3 and 2
Mactaggart bt Birdsall 2 and 1

Credit- Colin Farquharson

Great Britain & Ireland Curtis Cup Team Named. Read More