Ayrshire lost the final singles session to Renfrewshire but won the West Division county team championship to progress to the Scottish County Finals.

Ayrshire – three wins out of three

Ayrshire lost the final singles session to Renfrewshire but won the West Division county team championship with three wins out of three.

They go forward to meet the three other divisional champions in the Scottish women’s county championship finals at Stranraer Golf Club 18-20 September.

Over the three days at Loudoun Gowf, the host county beat Dunbartonshire and Argyll 6.5-2.5, then Lanarkshire 6.5-2.5 before squeezing home past Renfrewshire 5-4 on the final day.

Ayrshire almost made a clean sweep of the morning foursomes, taking a 2.5-0.5 lead into the singles. Catherine Malcolm stretched the Ayrshire lead to 3pt by beating Gillian Kyle 4 and 3 but Renfrewshire got their act together after that with wins by Katrina Milne, young debutante Jennifer Rankine, Donna Jackson

Audrey Thompson stopped the rot for Ayrshire by beating Carol Whyte 2 and 1. The last tie was halved, leaving Ayrshire the match winners by a 5-4 margin.

Lanarkshire beat Dunbartonshire and Argyll 7-2 in the day’s other match. Lanarkshire, Renfrewshire and Dunbartonshire all finished with records of one win and two defeats.

Lanarkshire 7, Dunbartonshire and Argyll 2
Rachael Taylor, Molly Richmond bt Claire Hargan, Jillian Farrell 5 and 3.
Susan Wood, Susan McGrenaghan bt Laura McGeachy, Lorraine Campbell 2 and 1
Lesley Lloyd, Alyson Hendry bt Anne Laing, Aileen Baker 5 and 4

Taylor bt Macdonald 7 and 5
Fiona Norris lost to Farrell 2 holes
Richmond bt Hargan 2 and 1
K Brown lost to Laing 2 and 1
Hendry bt Baker 7 and 6
Wood bt McGeachy 5 and 4

Renfrewshire 4, Ayrshire 5
Katrina Milne, Denise Cowan lost to Emma Hale, Jenny Linklater 4 and 3
Gillian Kyle, Carol Whyte halved with Catherine Malcolm, Linzi Allan
Donna Jackson, Liz Stewart lost to Connie Jaffrey, Audrey Thompson 7 and 6

SINGLES 3.5-2.5
Kyle lost to Malcolm 4 and 3
Milne bt Jaffrey 2 and 1
J Rankine bt D Watt 3 and 2
Jackson bt Allan 5 and 4
Whyte lost to Thompson 2 and 1
Cowan halved with Linklater

1 Ayrshire 3pt
2 Lanarkshire, Renfrewshire, Dunbartonshire & Argyll, all with 1pt