Julie McCarthy


Ireland's Julie McCarthy has secured her spot in the International team at The Arnold Palmer Cup, to be played at The Alotian Club, Arkansas, from 7-9 June 2019. 

The Arnold Palmer Cup teams for both the International and United States were announced at the Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by Mastercard at Bay Hill Club & Lodge. Long-time Arnold Palmer partner Rolex is continuing its 50-year relationship through its support of the matches.

The International team is represented by 17 countries across six continents. Five players return from last summer’s matches, including Luis Gagne (LSU/Costa Rica), Jiwon Jeon (Alabama/Republic of Korea), Jovan Reula (Auburn/South Africa), Patty Tavatanakit (UCLA/Thailand), and Albane Valenzuela (Stanford/Switzerland). International men’s ranking selections were Chun An Yu (Arizona State/Taiwan), Matthias Schmid (Louisville/Germany), Peng Pichaikool (Mississippi State/Thailand), Sandy Scott (Texas Tech/Scotland), Ivan Ramirez (Texas Tech/Colombia), and Kengo Aoshima (Wake Forest/Japan) and women’s ranking selections included Frida Kinhult (Florida State/Sweden), Tavatanakit, Hira Naveed (Pepperdine/Australia), Julie McCarthy (Auburn/Ireland), Valenzuela, and Jeon.

McCarthy (Forrest Little) has now shot par or better in six of her last eight tournament rounds, including two rounds in the 60s and is currently ranked eleventh in the Golfstat NCAA Rankings. The highest ranked GB&I Collegiate Golfer, McCarthy was an automatic selection for the 2019 Arnold Palmer Cup International Team and joins Olivia Mehaffey (RCDL) and Chloe Ryan (Castletroy) as AP Cup representatives since female players were introduced to the long-standing event in 2018.

A spot on the International side will be reserved for both a men’s and women’s golfer for The R&A Scholar Tournament Champion, which will be held at St. Andrews April 1-2. The four coach’s picks will be announced May 3 on Golf Channel’s Morning Drive.

Meet the teams... 


Men’s Arnold Palmer Cup Ranking Selections 
Chun An Yu, Arizona State (Taiwan)
Matthias Schmid, Louisville (Germany)
Peng Pichaikool, Mississippi State (Thailand)
Sandy Scott, Texas Tech (Scotland)
Ivan Ramirez, Texas Tech (Colombia)
Kengo Aoshima, Wake Forest (Japan)

Women’s Arnold Palmer Cup Ranking Selections 
Frida Kinhult, Florida State (Sweden)
Patty Tavatanakit, UCLA (Thailand)
Hira Naveed, Pepperdine (Australia)
Julie McCarthy, Auburn (Ireland)
Albane Valenzuela, Stanford (Switzerland)
Jiwon Jeon, Alabama (Republic of Korea)

Committee Selections 
Ana Belac, Duke (Slovenia)
Alex Del Rey, Arizona State (Spain)
Luis Gagne, LSU (Costa Rica)
Lois Kaye Go, South Carolina (Philippines)
Leonie Harm, Houston (Germany)
Takumi Kanaya, Tohoku Fukushi (Japan)
Agathe Laisne, Texas (France)
Jovan Rebula, Auburn (South Africa)

United States

Men’s Arnold Palmer Cup Ranking Selections 
Peter Kuest, BYU
Alex Smalley, Duke
Will Gordon, Vanderbilt
Will Grimmer, Ohio State
Cole Hammer, Texas
Brandon Wu, Stanford

Women’s Arnold Palmer Cup Ranking Selections 
Mariel Galdiano, UCLA
Dylan Kim, Arkansas
Jennifer Chang, Southern California
Malia Nam, Southern California
Haylee Harford, Furman
Kaitlyn Papp, Texas

Committee Selections 
John Augenstein, Vanderbilt
Abbey Carlson, Vanderbilt
Hailee Cooper, Texas
Quade Cummins, Oklahoma
Austin Eckroat, Oklahoma State
Stephanie Lau, Northwestern
Emilia Migliaccio, Wake Forest
Ann Parmerter, Dallas Baptist
Chandler Phillips, Texas A&M
Alex Scott, Grand Valley State





Wales Golf launch #New2Golf #Back2Golf female campaigns for 2019


Subscribe to Women & Golf Magazine

newsletter icon

Sign-up to receive our
Women & Golf newsletter!


solheim comp

We are using cookies to give you the best experience on our site. Cookies are files stored in your browser and are used by most websites to help personalise your web experience.
By continuing to use our website without changing the settings, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.