Women & Golf’s rules expert Sheila Waltham explains all about what happens if you hold the flagstick and putt at the same time
While playing in a greensomes competition, one of the ladies had a tap-in putt. She took the flagstick out of the hole and held it without touching the ground and proceeded to putt. I have always been told it was illegal to putt while holding the flagstick, but she insisted it was OK because she had not grounded it. Can you please clarify?
This action is perfectly legitimate and there is a Rule Clarification (13.2b(1)/1) that explicitly addresses this action:
Rule 13.2b(1) allows a player to remove the flagstick from the hole with one hand and make a one-handed stroke while holding the flagstick with the other hand. It also allows the player to attend their own flagstick in the hole with one hand before and while putting with the other hand. While or after making the one-handed stroke, they may remove the flagstick from the hole, but must not deliberately allow the moving ball to hit the flagstick.
However, the action that is not permitted is for the player to use the flagstick to steady themselves while making a stroke as this would contravene Rule 4.3a – Allowed and Prohibited uses of Equipment. As the flagstick was not in contact with the ground, it was not providing support to the player and the action was permitted.
By Sheila Waltham
About the author

Sheila Waltham has been a qualified rules official for over 15 years and joined the England Golf Tournament Panel of Referees in 2019. A keen golfer since 1995, Sheila’s interest in the Rules was born out of the realisation that a lot of the information she received as a novice golfer was incorrect. So, she took matters into her own hands!
Become a whizz on the rules and check out our previous Ask the Ref features, click here.
Thanks to Enfield Golf Club for the use of their 18th green.